HOUSE of REPRESENTATIVES - Legislative Action Alert!!!

Washington DC, March 18, 1998 ... Following final action on ISTEA II
(S.1173) by the Senate on Thursday March 12, the House Transportation
Committee released their schedule for completion on the House version of
ISTEA Re-authorization, BESTEA (H.R. 2400).

The time frame for this important piece of legislation is as follows:

The full Transportation Committee will mark up the bill for final committee
vote on March 24th. The bill will then move to the Ways and Means
Committee by the end of that week. On Monday the 30th of March the Rules
Committee will grant the rules by which the floor debate will proceed. The
final vote on BESTEA in the House is expected before the end of that week
(April 3rd) at which time the House and Senate will adjourn for spring
recess. The committee staff will work on the conference issues during the
recess and the House and Senate will reconvene the week of April 20th.
During the final two weeks of April the conference committee will resolve
the differences between the Senate and House versions with final approval
of BESTEA expected by the 1st of May.

Motorcyclists are in good position regarding most of the issues including
re-order of NHTSA priority of 'accident prevention' over 'injury reduction'
in motorcycle safety; inclusion of the needs and concerns of motorcyclists
in the goals of the Intelligent Transportation System, and , in the House
version, language that would prohibit the banning of motorcycles from
highways and roads that utilize federal highway funds.

The only remaining HOT issue requiring grass-roots action by motorcyclists is to
STOP NHTSA Lobbying Efforts Against Motorcyclists.

Motorcyclists' actions in the House need to be aimed at ensuring all of
these provisions are included in the final version of BESTEA that is passed
by the House in 1998. Thanks to Senator Bob Smith (R-NH) a provision
virtually identical to the House language on ITS is already included in
S.1173. The NHTSA LOBBY BAN AMENDMENT is included in the Senate version
thanks to the efforts of Senators Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO), Carol
Moseley-Braun (D-IL),Phil Gramm (R-TX) and John Warner (R-VA) and their
comments on the Senate floor will add further support to the issue as the
bill goes through the conference process. The re-authorization of ISTEA
will be done in both houses by spring recess at which time our objective
will be to maintain our position throughout the conference process.

Please contact your Representative NOW! Thank them for the Congressional
support of motorcyclists' issues already included in BESTEA and ask them to
support efforts that may be offered to stop NHTSA from lobbying. The
Transportation and Infrastructure Committee (listed below) will act on this
bill Tuesday (March 24) the House will debate the bill the following week
and call for a vote not later than Friday, April 3rd. Conference committee
staff will work during the spring recess and Congress will return on April
20th . The conference committee will meet then and finalize the bill for
Congressional approval by May 1.

Us House Of Representatives, 105th Congress
Transportation And Infrastructure Committee

Republicans (41)
Bud Shuster (PA), Chairman
Don Young (AK) Frank Riggs (CA)
Thomas Petri (WI) Charles Bass (NH)
Sherwood Boehlert (NY) Bob Ney (OH)
Herbert Bateman (VA) Jack Metcalf (WA)
Howard Coble (NC) Jo Ann Emerson (MO)
John Duncan (TN) Ed Pease (IN)
Thomas Ewing (IL) Roy Blunt (MO)
Wayne Gilcrest (MD) Joseph Pitts (PA)
Jay Kim (CA) Asa Hutchinson (AR)
Steve Horn(CA) Merrill Cook (UT)
Bob Franks (NJ) John Cooksey (LA)
John Mica (FL) John Thune (SD)
Jack Quinn (NY) Charles Pickering (MS)
Tillie Fowler (FL) Kay Granger (TX)
Vernon Ehlers (MI) Jon Fox (PA)
Spencer Bachus (AL) Tom Davis (VA)
Steve LaTourette (OH) Frank LoBiondo (NJ)
Sue Kelly (NY) J.C. Watts (OK)
Ray LaHood (IL) Jerry Moran (KS)
Richard Baker (LA) Vito Fossella (NY)

Democrats (32)
James Oberstar (MN), Ranking Minority Member
Nick Joe Rahall (WV) Bob Filner (CA)
Robert Borski (PA) Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX)
William Lipinski (IL) Frank Mascara (PA)
Robert Wise (WV) Gene Taylor (MS)
James Traficant (OH) Juanita Millender-McDonald (CA)
Peter DeFazio (OR) Elijah Cummings (MD)
Bob Clement (TN) Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Jerry Costello (IL) Max Sandlin (TX)
Glenn Poshard (IL) Ellen Tauscher (CA)
Eleanor Holmes-Norton (DC)
Jerrold Nadler (NY) William Pascrell (NJ)
Pat Danner (MO) Jay Johnson (WI)
Robert Menendez (NJ) Leonard Boswell (IA)
James Clyburn (SC) Jim McGovern (MA)
Corrine Brown (FL) Tim Holden (PA)
James Barcia (MI) Nick Lampson (TX)

For additional information contact Steve Zimmer at the MRF office in
Washington 202-546-0983 or by e-mail:

Motorcycle Riders Foundation -- E-MAIL ACTION ALERT
PO BOX 1808, Washington, DC 20013-1808
202-546-0983 (voice) 202-546-0986 (fax) (e-mail)

More info: 1) 1st Press Release, 2) ISTEA details, 3) ISTEA goes to vote

| Home | Studies | States | Nation | World | Press | Archives | Backfire | Contact Us |

© Copyright 1996-9 SAS. All Rights Reserved.