18 Years Old
Title 29-A. Motor Vehicles. Chapter 19. Operation. Subchapter I. Rules of the Road. Section 2083. Protective Headgear:
1. Requirement. The following persons must wear protective headgear:
A. If under 18 years of age, a passenger on a motorcycle or in an attached side car; [2009, c. 50, §1 (AMD).]
B. If under 18 years of age, an operator of a motorcycle; [2009, c. 50, §2 (AMD).]
C. An operator of a motorcycle, operating under a learner's permit or within one year of successfully completing a driving test; and [2005, c. 577, §33 (AMD).]
D. A passenger of an operator required to wear headgear. [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
If you have information about the amount of the fine for violating Maine's helmet law, please e-mail it to us. Thanks.
Title 29-A. Motor Vehicles. Chapter 19. Operation. Subchapter I. Rules of the Road. Section 2083. Protective Headgear. 3. Standard. :
"Protective headgear must conform with minimum standards of construction and performance as prescribed by the American National Standards Institute specifications Z 90.1 or by the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218."
We have not found any published cases from any of the Maine courts of record regarding challenges of the state's helmet law on constitutional grounds, or any other.
If you know of any current activity regarding efforts to remove or otherwise amend Maine's helmet law, in the Legislature or the Courts, please e-mail that information to us so we can update this site. Thanks.
-- DISCLAIMER --
The foregoing is provided as educational information only and is not legal advice.